Follow Us

Reviews for Swan Oyster Depot

View Menu Go Back

Latest MenuPix Reviews

review_stars 09/13/2006 - Andy
Growing up in San Francisco, my father used to work construction downtown and where he would take us for lunch is Swan's. I recently moved from the City, but about a month ago I had to come back for personal reasons, and where did I wind up?? Swan's! It brought back so many memories and the food was still the same. Nice, fresh seafood to die for. And the horseradish sauce?? Me and my Mom brought back two bottles. But we are running out, so it's time to make that trip again!
Stay true Swan's, please don't change.

review_stars 10/01/2005 - SUSAN AND HUEY HUSON
MY HUSAND AND I LEARNED OF THIS PLACEON $40.00 A DAY WITH RACHELL RAY AND WE WENT THERE THE FIRST HANCE WE GOT AND BOY WAS IT WORTH IT . THE GUYS THAT RUN THE PLACES ARE TRUE GENTLEMAN. WE HAD SO MUCH FUN THAT I TOOK A PICTURE OF ALL THE GUYS AND PRINTED OUT AND FRAMED IF FOR THEM ANDON OUR NEXT TRIP, WHE HAVE ALWAYS HAD THE BEST SERVICE AND THE FOOD I FRESH AND GREAT BEST CRAB LOUIE I HAVE EVER HAD. I HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS PLACE ABOVE ALL OTHERS IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A HOMEY ATMOSPHERE AND GREAT SERVICE AS WEL AS THE FRESHES CRAB AND OYSTERS YOU HAVE EVER EATEN. WE NEVER TAKE A TRIP TO SF WITHOUT STOPPING IN FOR A GREAT MEAL AND ENTERTAINMENT,OH, BY THE WAY THE LOUIE DRESSING IS TO DIE FOR. SO DON'T MISS OUT ON THIS AMAZING LITTLE RESTERAUNT. I JUST CAN'T SAY ENOUGH GOOD THING ABOUT IT SO GO TRY IT FOR YOURSELF THERE WILL BE A WAITING LINE UNLESS YOU GO AROUND 10:00 AM BUT IF YOU HAVE TO WAIT IT IS WELL WORHT THE WAIT. HAPPY DINNING TO ALL, VERY SATISFIED CUSTOMERS FROM OREGON

Google Places Reviews

review_stars Rating: 3 | 10/25/2017 - Shirley Yeung
Review: The wait was really ridiculous here. We waited for close to 90 minutes on a Friday afternoon around 3:30pm. While it was a unique experience, you're served seafood at the bar, I'm not sure it was worth the wait. If you come from a place that has great shellfish and seafood, I would skip this place. The prices were not too bad overall but save your time and enjoy other food options in the city.

review_stars Rating: 5 | 10/14/2017 - Vas Khomyk
Review: Amazing. That's it. Do yourself a favor and ask your server to give you a few mixed things to try. The scallops and oysters were the best I've had, and I'm a foodie from New England. I will be coming back to San Francisco, if only for Swan Oyster Depot. 6/5 stars

review_stars Rating: 1 | 11/19/2017 - Gholam Ahangari
Review: closes at 5:30 for no reason apparent reason, closed on Sunday as well. Kicks people out of the line at 4:30. No indicator of what their policy is until you have been in line for an hour. owner was a jerk, calling me “the dedicated type” for wanting to get a seat and eat like a normal person. I’ve never once been called that by any owner, and I’ve been all around the world. But hey, after 15 minutes of fame, I guess you’ve earned the right to be rude to people. I’m sorry that you don’t want or appreciate my hard earned money. Besides the crab back on the show, the rest of the menu was identical to every other oyster bar in SF. We ended up going to Betty Lou’s instead, which was better in every single way than this place. In short, there are Lots of great places besides this place that aren’t as pretentious, don’t let Bourdain Fever get to you.

review_stars Rating: 2 | 10/28/2017 - Frank Lim
Review: Got there at 10:35 on Friday and the line was already long. Stand in line for an hour and a half in the sun and finally got to sit at two bar chairs. No one come to say hello until about 20 minutes later. The owner’s son Kevin I think was not friendly at all. Perhaps he does not have to be with all the people lining up to eat. We ordered two bowls of clam chowder and it was not good - kind of watery with no clams. Totally disappointed. The oysters and clams were good but I am sure you can get them anywhere else in the City. Yes, the crab meat was good and it turns out that they bought them cooked. All they have to do is tto crack them open and serve them. Will never go there again. Not worth waiting in line and they are way overly rated. Worse of all, they are not nice people. No chairs or water for people waiting outside in the heat for an average of 90 minutes.

review_stars Rating: 5 | 08/26/2017 - Food Critique
Review: Amazing seafood !! Clam chowder is full of seafood flavour, the seafood sashimi with chopped red onion and capers which compliments the raw fish. Crab claws with cocktail sauce is another yummy dish. The staff look like a family and they are really nice! Be prepared to wait in line for an hour or come very very early otherwise you won't be able to find a seat.




Write a Review


Rating

Write Review


Are you a robot?


San Francisco Restaurant Guide: See Menus, Ratings and Reviews for Restaurants in San Francisco and California
United States Restaurant Guide:
AK | AL | AR | AZ | DE | CA | CT | CO | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | MD | ME | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO | MT | NC | ND | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY
Canadian Major Cities and Provinces:
Alberta | British Columbia | Manitoba | New Brunswick | Newfoundland | Nova Scotia | Ontario | Prince Edward Island | Quebec | Saskatchewan | Yukon | Calgary | Edmonton | Montreal | Ottawa | Regina | Saskatoon | Toronto | Vancouver | Victoria | Winnipeg |
Most Popular US City Guides:
Albuquerque | Amherst | Atlanta | Austin | Baltimore | Boston | Boulder | Brooklyn | Burlington | Cape Cod | Charlotte | Charleston | Chicago | Cincinnati | Cleveland | Columbus | Dallas / Fort Worth | Denver | Detroit | El Paso | Flagstaff | Fort Lauderdale | Fresno | Gulf Coast | Hartford | Hoboken | Honolulu | Houston | Indianapolis | Jackson | Jacksonville | Jersey City | Kansas City | Knoxville | Las Vegas | Long Island | Los Angeles | Louisville | Lowell | Madison | Memphis | Miami | Milwaukee | Minneapolis | Myrtle Beach | Nashua | Nashville | New Orleans | New York City | Oakland | Oklahoma City | Omaha | Orange County | Orlando | Philadelphia | Phoenix | Pittsburgh | Portland | Providence | Raleigh | Reno | Richmond | Riverside | Sacramento | Saint Louis | Salem | Salt Lake City | San Antonio | San Diego | San Francisco | San Jose | Santa Barbara | Santa Fe | Seattle | St. Paul | Tampa | Tucson | Tulsa | Twin Cities | Virginia Beach | Washington, DC | Wilmington | Winston-Salem