Follow Us

Reviews for Donohue's Cafe

Back to the restaurant's page
Latest MenuPix Reviews
david fiorello posted on 11/02/2010
Rating & Review:
Never been there but I was just watching Death Wish the movie with Charles Bronson filmed in 1974. At the beginning of the movie he and his wife take a ride into NY in a cab and there is a big billboard sign on a building near a train depot that says Donohue's Restaurant. Is this the same as Donohues Cafe?
Isabella posted on 06/04/2010
Rating & Review:
Hey The Donohues is the bestest place ever my aunt is Maureen, the owner. My grandpa and grandma use to own it. I am only 13 though so i wouldn't know if its the best. Its my my favorite place to go when i am in nyc.
anne sheffield posted on 05/31/2010
Rating & Review:
this is the bar everyone looking for the real thing hopes to find ... unchanged since its opening over 50 years ago, which is why Law and Order has often filmed there and why anyone who knows the difference bertween real and hyped, and<br /> is recognized as a regular, goes there. And loves it.
Tim Carew posted on 05/27/2010
Rating & Review:
Best I have found in the mid 60's for the price....or even close to it. Family owned, I think. And the food, service, drinks reflect a wonderful attention to customers' desires. Great value.
Jeffrey C posted on 02/27/2010
Rating & Review:
This is a great place for a burger, scallops, blue fish, grilled cheese and bacon, lamb chops, steak, martinis, good bar wine and great service. No, I don't own the place and the owner isn't a friend. It's just a great lace to relax and have some good food.
Nige R posted on 12/31/2009
Rating & Review:
Had a few beers and lunch here when we were in town Jan 2007, thought it was great, my friend works in Manhattan and drinks here regularly .
Jughead2323 posted on 04/19/2009
Rating & Review:
Waiters and bartenders are incredibly surly and gruff -- you might put up with it if the steak was great, but it's really nothing special. Depressing place that should have kicked the bucket long ago -- clientele mostly consists of boozy, aging drunks killing off the last of their livers, so they really don't care how the food tastess.There are plenty of better places in NYC to get steak. Place is musty and grim, with bad lighting, and t feels like it could use a good vacuuming.<br />
Glen Livet posted on 09/07/2008
Rating & Review:
Had drinks here with my dad on a visit to NY. One of the highlights of our stay. Loved the authentic old-school atmosphere.
posted on 12/03/2007
Rating & Review:
My wife and I frequent Donohue's Cafe and Steak House often to socialize and eat. We have lunch and dinner often. I ask you, what's not to like. Good food, nice people and the beautiful owner Maureen make's it all happen. We recomment highly.<br /> Dennis and Thelma Louise Storch. e-mail: dstorch@aol.com
Tom.... Love The Food Not The Rodents posted on 09/27/2007
Rating & Review:
I vissited Donohue's a few times for a drink and dinner and was pleased by the food and prices, my only slight complaint was the cold and unpleasent bartender but recently I had gone there with a female coworker for a few drinks. It was a Sunday evening and after the dinner rush. As my coworker and I were exchanging small talk, I glanced to my left and saw something moving in the back near the kitchen and restroom area. I waited for a few seconds and again I saw movements in the same area, only this time there were more then one thing moving. A few minutes later I saw at least 5 or more mice roaming the floor and tables that only minutes before were filled with loyal customers. Now the mice were in plain view to the waitress my coworker and the bartender. I realize this is NYC and mice and rats are sharing our world but I cannot explain the relaxed way the staff acted towards this. To me it was like a everynight thing and was fully excepted. When I told them I am not paying for the two drinks we had, this Frankenstein like bartender said he would call the pollice to which I responded would you like to use my cell as I left the place. I am pissed cause this must happen everynight when the place gets quiet and there loyal customers leave not knowing that they share the restaurant with germ infested mice and I don't mean a Disney character, these are for real and sickening.<br /> Tom
MenuPix User posted on 12/17/2006
Rating & Review:
Simply the best neighborhood restaurant serving comfort food and good drinks in a friendy atmosphere. The manager/owner Maureen is a new York treasure.




United States Restaurant Guide:
AK | AL | AR | AZ | DE | CA | CT | CO | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | MD | ME | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO | MT | NC | ND | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY
Canadian Major Cities and Provinces:
Alberta | British Columbia | Manitoba | New Brunswick | Newfoundland | Nova Scotia | Ontario | Prince Edward Island | Quebec | Saskatchewan | Yukon | Calgary | Edmonton | Montreal | Ottawa | Regina | Saskatoon | Toronto | Vancouver | Victoria | Winnipeg |
Most Popular US City Guides:
Albuquerque | Amherst | Atlanta | Austin | Baltimore | Boston | Boulder | Brooklyn | Burlington | Cape Cod | Charlotte | Charleston | Chicago | Cincinnati | Cleveland | Columbus | Dallas / Fort Worth | Denver | Detroit | El Paso | Flagstaff | Fort Lauderdale | Fresno | Gulf Coast | Hartford | Hoboken | Honolulu | Houston | Indianapolis | Jackson | Jersey City | Knoxville | Jacksonville | Kansas City | Las Vegas | Long Island | Los Angeles | Louisville | Lowell | Madison | Memphis | Miami | Milwaukee | Minneapolis | Myrtle Beach | Nashua | Nashville | New Orleans | New York City | Oakland | Oklahoma City | Omaha | Orange County | Orlando | Philadelphia | Phoenix | Pittsburgh | Portland | Providence | Raleigh | Reno | Richmond | Riverside | Sacramento | Saint Louis | Salem | Salt Lake City | San Antonio | San Diego | San Francisco | San Jose | Santa Barbara | Santa Fe | Seattle | St. Paul | Tampa | Tucson | Tulsa | Twin Cities | Virginia Beach | Washington, DC | Wilmington | Winston-Salem

New York City Restaurant Guide: See Menus, Ratings and Reviews for Restaurants in New York City and New York