Follow Us

Reviews for Georgia's Bake Shop

Back to the restaurant's page
Latest MenuPix Reviews
Food Genius posted on 05/16/2009
Rating & Review:
66 HEALTH CODE VIOLATION ... OMG, this place has THE WORST SERVICE EVER!! Medeocre food and unclean surrounding and TOTALLY OVER PRICED! Check out all the violations .. FILTHY CONDITIONS, LIVE VERMIN, LIVE INSECTS, UNEXCEPTABLE WORK SURFACES, EXPIRED FOOD, NO EMPLOYEE HAND WASHING FACILITY, BAD REFRIGERATION, etc. ... go look yourself on the nyc.gov site ... <br /> <br /> http://167.153.150.32/RI/web/detail.do?method=detail&restaurantId=41039924&inspectionDate=20090406<br /> <br /> The location is the ONLY good thing about Georgia's!! The SERVICE IS HORRIBLE, food is OVERPRICED - NOT FRESH!!, CLAUSTOPHOBIC seating arrangement!! FILTHY BATHROOM and to top it off it was one of the noisiest dining experiences on the Upper West Side. Save your $$ EAT ELSEWHERE!! Incredibly DISAPPOINTING!! They should forget about trying to be a restaurant and stick with being an over priced bakery/coffee cafe.<br /> <br /> Actually, their baked goods are awful too! Don't waste your time or money.<br /> <br /> <br />
posted on 10/22/2008
Rating & Review:
The location is the ONLY good thing about Georgia's!! The SERVICE IS HORRIBLE, food is OVERPRICED - NOT FRESH!!, CLAUSTOPHOBIC seating arrangement!! FILTHY BATHROOM and to top it off it was one of the noisiest dining experiences on the Upper West Side. Save your $$ EAT ELSEWHERE!! Incredibly DISAPPOINTING!! They should forget about trying to be a restaurant and stick with being an over priced bakery/coffee cafe.<br /> <br /> PS Actually, their baked goods are awful too!
good food posted on 10/04/2008
Rating & Review:
good food nice satdff
posted on 08/16/2008
Rating & Review:
What a COMPLETE DISAPPOINTMENT!! Over priced menu with lack luster cuisine! BAD SERVICE to boot! NOT ACCESSIBLE for the DISABLED! They should have stayed a bakery -- trying to be something they will never be -- a restaurant! DON'T BOTHER!! Burning your $$ would be more satisfying!
nancy from the neighborhood posted on 08/14/2008
Rating & Review:
I just had to walk out of this place & am still irked.<br /> <br /> This place is kid-friendly, therefore full of (tuned-out) mothers with children, resulting in its being adult-unfriendly. <br /> <br /> Parents think that their children's shrieks are as endearing to the stranger at the next table as they are to themselves. There were two tables in this small place with unrepressed kids & oblivious mothers. Your choice.<br /> <br /> Previous comment about sandwiches being sold out is still true. It's a crapshoot. Don't go in hankering for a tuna sandwich. <br /> <br /> Avoid the overbaked loaf cake varieties which are as dry as a bone. Other stuff is VERY good. Chocolate ganache cake....mmmmmmm! Good ingredients=expensive but worth it! <br /> <br /> This is the only high-quality bakery in the neighborhood. Too bad that EVERYONE can't enjoy it. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
posted on 03/26/2007
Rating & Review:
The food is good, but I can never order the sandwiches that are listed on the menu. Whenever I ask, I get the same answer "Sold-out" . Also, in the summer they have a strange way of serving. If you take a table inside, it is self service and waiters do not help you. If you take a table outside, you have to be served by a waitress. Also, they are famous with bringing you something you did not order. I was there last Sunday, and the manager (or owner, I don't know, some unhappy old lady) asked me to leave because I had occupied a table for more than 20mins. It is a very tiny place, and I guess they have a right to ask you to leave. But, there were two other completely available tables when they told me this. I think they need to get used to the idea that it is Starbucks era. Also, they should serve better quality coffee because their baked items are first class.
Michael Koors posted on 01/30/2006
Rating & Review:
This place is amazing! The food is amazing and so is the feeling of warmth once you enter this great place. I lived around the corner of the bakery for quite some time but I moved to Brooklyn so unfortunately I don't have the pleasure of enjoying its goods. As time have changes, so do the things in the bakery. When I first visited Georgia's, back in February of 2005, the pastries were simple and fancy at the same time but during my last visit in January of 2006, some things in had changed. The pastries in the showcase for sure and breads. I wish that Georgia's was back like I first remembered. Strawberry Shortcakes, mixed fruit tarts with lots of pastry cream, and chocolate and coconut macaroons instead of the new ones they have, which by the way, are far inferior in tatste then those of the past. Maybe if Georgia's focused more in things like cupcakes and crossiants and sorts, it might become more busy then it already is. The Double Chocolate Oatmeal cookie continues to be very popular as one of its employees suggested which by the way are one of the most respectful and kindest staffs I have ever seen. If you are a regualar, they know you by name and attend your every need. The fuuny part is that they treat you even better if your are an outsider. AGAIN, Georgias is still a great place to eat either as a quick snack, a meal or just to have a cup of their great coffee. Great food, with great service, what most can you ask for.
Susan posted on 01/30/2006
Rating & Review:
My kids love this little shop, I have to try to keep them at home when I go out because they always are hungry when we pass the bakery on the way to school. Coffee is great, and staff is awesome. My brother Michael just posted a comment so I think I should too.
Barbara Muhlenberg posted on 10/31/2005
Rating & Review:
Stumbled across this tiny bake shop this past Friday, ventured inside and bought two lovely Halloween decorated sugar cookies which were absolutely scrumptious! I would definitely go back to Georgia's again, however its a bit difficult, given I live in Virginia.

Latest Yelp Reviews

Overall Rating:
Yelp Rating
Based on 52 Reviews
Sam C. posted on 04/15/2007
Rating & Review:
Yelp Rating
Considering how many Crisco-laden over the top bakeries have infiltrated the UWS's kid-appeasing family population, its a wonder this nook survives....   read more
Adam S. posted on 04/08/2009
Rating & Review:
Yelp Rating
This is one of my favorite places to go in the neighborhood for a weekend breakfast or brunch. They have excellent coffee and pastries, and their brunch...   read more
Au G. posted on 10/21/2010
Rating & Review:
Yelp Rating
My raspberry and apricot macarons...aren't they lovely? Don't they make your mouth water and crave for the crunchy and chewy exterior? Can't you feel the...   read more



United States Restaurant Guide:
AK | AL | AR | AZ | DE | CA | CT | CO | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | MD | ME | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO | MT | NC | ND | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY
Canadian Major Cities and Provinces:
Alberta | British Columbia | Manitoba | New Brunswick | Newfoundland | Nova Scotia | Ontario | Prince Edward Island | Quebec | Saskatchewan | Yukon | Calgary | Edmonton | Montreal | Ottawa | Regina | Saskatoon | Toronto | Vancouver | Victoria | Winnipeg |
Most Popular US City Guides:
Albuquerque | Amherst | Atlanta | Austin | Baltimore | Boston | Boulder | Brooklyn | Burlington | Cape Cod | Charlotte | Charleston | Chicago | Cincinnati | Cleveland | Columbus | Dallas / Fort Worth | Denver | Detroit | El Paso | Flagstaff | Fort Lauderdale | Fresno | Gulf Coast | Hartford | Hoboken | Honolulu | Houston | Indianapolis | Jackson | Jersey City | Knoxville | Jacksonville | Kansas City | Las Vegas | Long Island | Los Angeles | Louisville | Lowell | Madison | Memphis | Miami | Milwaukee | Minneapolis | Myrtle Beach | Nashua | Nashville | New Orleans | New York City | Oakland | Oklahoma City | Omaha | Orange County | Orlando | Philadelphia | Phoenix | Pittsburgh | Portland | Providence | Raleigh | Reno | Richmond | Riverside | Sacramento | Saint Louis | Salem | Salt Lake City | San Antonio | San Diego | San Francisco | San Jose | Santa Barbara | Santa Fe | Seattle | St. Paul | Tampa | Tucson | Tulsa | Twin Cities | Virginia Beach | Washington, DC | Wilmington | Winston-Salem

New York City Restaurant Guide: See Menus, Ratings and Reviews for Restaurants in New York City and New York