Follow Us

Reviews for Fish House Restaurants

View Menu Go Back

Latest MenuPix Reviews

review_stars 08/21/2017 - Frank Smith
Well let me just say that I didn't order food. I went here because they had a bluefish special. The place was empty at 6:00, which worried me a little. I can easily guess why! My sweet tea, which took five minutes to get (for 1 person), was rancid! And the bluefish, god help them, was dry and tough, the worst piece of fish I've ever had. You could get better quality seafood at a Chinese buffet. All in all, this place was a disaster, and I wouldn't recommend this to anyone! For a lot better seafood, try diamond shoals a couple miles up the road by the lighthouse.

review_stars 10/19/2013 - Ken Robol
Food is the best! You will love it!

review_stars 07/10/2013 - beth webster
It took us 3 hours from the moment we arrived until we for our food... and my daughter never did get her order. After they brought our food out they told us they were out of what she ordered, after waiting over and hour for our food we just asked for french fries to avoid another wait, she was already crying she was so hungry. The food was terrible, i was sick the next day. Had to ask several times for our water to be refilled and she never brought ice with it, only luke warm water. When we left i complained to the manager and they took 10% off our total bill ($130 for 6 people) which already had 18% tip on it. Waitress did NOT deserve even 8% and our meal was for sure not worth $130..... and with those prices you would think they could use something besides plastic plates and forks..do NOT recommend!

review_stars 05/29/2009 - PJ Justice
The food is good but very expensive. My local seafood restaurant in my hometown is not this expensive and you get more and the food is just as good. I was disappointed at the price and the paper plates, plastic cups. I will never go back there again.

Google Places Reviews

review_stars Rating: 1 | 09/06/2016 - Yūki Terumi
Review: I ordered the fried shrimp burger and after a few bites, I noticed some black dirt smeared on several of the shrimps. Now I understand that some people are perfectly fine with eating the shrimp's intestines and its contents, but I'm not. I asked the waitress as politely as I could whether the shrimp had been cleaned or not. The waitress answered me curtly that they don't do that there. When I asked whether I could order something else, she gave me quite a bit of attitude as if I was insulting her personally. I finally had to say that whether or not they would allow me to order something else, I was not going to eat the shrimp. The waitress then went back to talk to her manager. In the end I was allowed to order something else and tried the fried flounder sandwich. It was bland as hell, but hey, at least it didn't have poop in it...I hope. Only positive thing was the hush puppies, but how do you screw those up?

review_stars Rating: 4 | 05/25/2016 - Maria Tutino Mejia
Review: Solid, popular little seafood shack--convenient to Hatteras Light and Ocracoke Ferry. We tried the crab cake appetizer, Fried clam strips, fish of the day, and steamed peel-n-eat NC Shrimp. Crab cake center was delicious--all fresh lump, light seasoning, little filler. Potato chip crust was an interesting take--crunchy and tasty, but it would be great if they had a broiled version sans potato chips. Clam strips were fresh not frozen and surprisingly on point considering this one's a more of a New England specialty--better than any options we've found locally in DC where the fashion for whole belly clams seems to have pushed out the humble but glorious strip. Husband raved about fish of the day. Shrimp were fantastic, fresh, steamed just right w homemade cocktail sauce--disappeared in about five minutes! Set on a cute little inlet--one of the few places to eat directly on the water in this area, service is friendly and quick enough, especially considering they were slammed with the usual vacationer check in/check out crowd on a Sunday afternoon in August. No AC so might not be the best choice for a super hot day, but on the day we visited ceiling fans and open windows let us enjoy the sound-side breeze and quirky little view. Coming from DC, we found the prices extremely reasonable for the quality and portions. Would return when visiting southern OBX or for a quick bite before hitting the Ferry.

review_stars Rating: 5 | 07/29/2016 - John Manz
Review: Ate there on 7/29/2016 with my wife, daughter & 2 grandsons. First time at the outer banks for us. Had catfish dinner. Big portions plus catfish would melt in your mouth. Best fried catfish I ever had.

review_stars Rating: 2 | 05/27/2016 - ashley jackson
Review: Average at best. Steamed shrimp and hush puppies were awesome, but wouldn't recommend the crab cakes or oysters - over fried with bland batter. Service was average. Food served on styrofoam plates with plastic utensils (much different than the Google pictures). Even chowder in a flimsy bowl. Refused to split the check for a party of 5 (only needed 2 separate checks). Not what we expected after reading other reviews. Wouldn't dine here again.

review_stars Rating: 5 | 05/25/2015 - Aaron Bender
Review: Great food and great service! Enjoyed chowder, crabcakes, and blackened shrimp here on a rainy night. The shrimp were probably my favorite, and had I ordered anything else, I would've doubled down on those bad boys. The back patio is a pretty cool place to hang out in the the little marina. The service was fantastic even though our waitress was only working her second day.




Write a Review


Rating

Write Review


Are you a robot?


North Carolina Restaurant Guide: See Menus, Ratings and Reviews for Restaurants in North Carolina
United States Restaurant Guide:
AK | AL | AR | AZ | DE | CA | CT | CO | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | MD | ME | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO | MT | NC | ND | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY
Canadian Major Cities and Provinces:
Alberta | British Columbia | Manitoba | New Brunswick | Newfoundland | Nova Scotia | Ontario | Prince Edward Island | Quebec | Saskatchewan | Yukon | Calgary | Edmonton | Montreal | Ottawa | Regina | Saskatoon | Toronto | Vancouver | Victoria | Winnipeg |
Most Popular US City Guides:
Albuquerque | Amherst | Atlanta | Austin | Baltimore | Boston | Boulder | Brooklyn | Burlington | Cape Cod | Charlotte | Charleston | Chicago | Cincinnati | Cleveland | Columbus | Dallas / Fort Worth | Denver | Detroit | El Paso | Flagstaff | Fort Lauderdale | Fresno | Gulf Coast | Hartford | Hoboken | Honolulu | Houston | Indianapolis | Jackson | Jacksonville | Jersey City | Kansas City | Knoxville | Las Vegas | Long Island | Los Angeles | Louisville | Lowell | Madison | Memphis | Miami | Milwaukee | Minneapolis | Myrtle Beach | Nashua | Nashville | New Orleans | New York City | Oakland | Oklahoma City | Omaha | Orange County | Orlando | Philadelphia | Phoenix | Pittsburgh | Portland | Providence | Raleigh | Reno | Richmond | Riverside | Sacramento | Saint Louis | Salem | Salt Lake City | San Antonio | San Diego | San Francisco | San Jose | Santa Barbara | Santa Fe | Seattle | St. Paul | Tampa | Tucson | Tulsa | Twin Cities | Virginia Beach | Washington, DC | Wilmington | Winston-Salem