Follow Us

Reviews for Raku

Back to the restaurant's page
Latest MenuPix Reviews
MMLM posted on 11/20/2009
Rating & Review:
I went for the first time for lunch. Delicious! I went the next week in the evening for my birthday dinner and we sat at the bar because they were filled and do not take reservations an hour ahead of time. That's ok. Our service was great and the waiter even brought me a special dessert with a candle in it and sang to me! I went for lunch again the very next day and had the same waiter... and the food again was delicious. I will go back as often as my budget allows. Did I mention that I am getting take out today?
posted on 11/20/2009
Rating & Review:
The best of the best
LS posted on 09/23/2009
Rating & Review:
Fantastic array of sushi. Japanese noodle soups are a meal in themselves. Superior quality ingredients. Raku should offer a frequent diner card for those of us addicted to the place!
posted on 02/26/2009
Rating & Review:
Amazing Asian Fusion Food!!! Do not leave without trying their tuna tartare which is one of their classic dishes. My last visit was in winter so there was no outdoor seating and the dining area was definetly super cramped. Our server didnt speak much english and wasnt super charismatic but our order was perfect and the food was great so i cant really say the service was bad. Even if the service was horrible, the food is awesome enough to keep me coming back. the prices are a little bit pricey for the portion sizes but the quality is great so I dont mind.
Raku posted on 02/23/2009
Rating & Review:
The food is always perfection in this lively neighborhood restaurant. The flavors are exceptional. Each dish is a surprise and always consistent. The staff aim to please, but there it's a busy place so be prepared to wait or put your name down and explore the Bethesda shops.
bnr posted on 12/23/2008
Rating & Review:
The food is so GREAT, service is good, BUT beware of the hostess...they are usually RUDE.
KDC posted on 12/05/2008
Rating & Review:
Went to Raku last night and was so disgusted that I left before even ordering food. The chefs had a filthy rag on the prep table that they all wiped their hands on, wiped their knives on, and used to wipe down the table. Then they would get raw fish and prepare it for customers. Never once actually washing their hands or using something sanitary. I was very disappointed and wisht that someone from the FDA would have seen it.
AC Karchem posted on 11/30/2008
Rating & Review:
Food, service and value are excellent, but I hate eating in the restaurant. I cannot have a private or quiet conversation because the seating is so cramped. Such a shame considering they have everything else done properly
service and food GREAT!! atmosphere terrible =( posted on 03/06/2008
Rating & Review:
Server was very very very knowledgeable and helpful about the menu since it was my first time eating at Raku, and did a great wine presentation. Overall, attentive and helpful service, even though the server seemed busy she seemed to be there when we needed her. Food was fantastic... the Beef Tenderloin Proscuitto was sooooooooooo good, and the Tuna Tartare is worth trying. Suzuki Seabass had a great sauce but was a little overdone / dry.. but then again I'm really picky about my seabass. The Szichuan Steak was amazing, the beef was done exactly how we wanted it and was flavorful and juicy in itself. I loved how the green beans and mashed potatoes that it came with wasn't just thrown onto the dish as a filler, but each had such a delicious buttery flavory that really complemented the steak. The only very bad thing is that the place is SOOO crowded. Tables are practically stacked on top of each other, so you WILL get a little jostled when people are sitting / leaving their seats. Overall, food and service are completely worth their moderately high prices.
Violet posted on 11/23/2007
Rating & Review:
My favorite restaurant in the whole world!!! Too bad I live in Los Angeles, though...The Vegetarian Bento Box is so, so wonderful as is the greens salad, and the veggie sushi special. Add some passionfruit limeade and I'm in paradise. I was not surprised after visiting Raku to find that it is the creation of a true visionary, Mark Miller, who has created several stellar restaurants. The imagination and aesthetic sensibility, originality and craft that has gone into this restaurant is really remarkable. Every week I play at recreating something off the menu "souveneir" I took home with me. It really is a beautiful culinary experience.
posted on 11/09/2007
Rating & Review:
I absolutly LOVE Raku!!!!! The sushi is delcious and the soup, apetizers, and other foods are rich in flavor. I'd say Raku is a wonderful returant. The dessert is also so appealing. Raku is a terrific place to eat when It comes to sushi, soup, dessert, appetizer, and much more!
posted on 08/26/2007
Rating & Review:
Awesome food...consistently deliver great sushi and kitchen dishes. Especially love the calamari, Bonzai Tree Roll and the chilean seabass. The wait staff knows us by name and is always friendly, courteous and prompt with food delivery and drink refills.
MenuPix User posted on 10/14/2006
Rating & Review:
Fabulous food in a atomosphere that is a little too loud for my early 40's ears. Service is always problematical, although we have never had a problem getting out in time for a movie if we tell them ahead of time. The sushi is tremendous, the Bento boxes are a great value and the soups are a meal to themselves. Do not miss the Spicy Cruncy Tuna roll, the Gazpacho soup appetizer or the Tuna Tataki or Tuna Tartar dishes.

Latest Yelp Reviews

Overall Rating:
Yelp Rating
Based on 276 Reviews
Kay H. posted on 09/19/2014
Rating & Review:
Yelp Rating
Raku is consistently busy -- it's not uncommon to see a line of people waiting for a table. That said, if you are in good company, you won't mind the...   read more
Kirk S. posted on 09/13/2014
Rating & Review:
Yelp Rating
Simply not impressive. Raku is yet another sushi place in the Washington D.C. area, albeit one without anything really impressive about it. The sushi is...   read more
Hilda K. posted on 07/29/2014
Rating & Review:
Yelp Rating
Tables are close, too close. Food did not do anything for me neither did the sake martinis I had. Service was good though - we had a very attentive...   read more



United States Restaurant Guide:
AK | AL | AR | AZ | DE | CA | CT | CO | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | MD | ME | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO | MT | NC | ND | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY
Canadian Major Cities and Provinces:
Alberta | British Columbia | Manitoba | New Brunswick | Newfoundland | Nova Scotia | Ontario | Prince Edward Island | Quebec | Saskatchewan | Yukon | Calgary | Edmonton | Montreal | Ottawa | Regina | Saskatoon | Toronto | Vancouver | Victoria | Winnipeg |
Most Popular US City Guides:
Albuquerque | Amherst | Atlanta | Austin | Baltimore | Boston | Boulder | Brooklyn | Burlington | Cape Cod | Charlotte | Charleston | Chicago | Cincinnati | Cleveland | Columbus | Dallas / Fort Worth | Denver | Detroit | El Paso | Flagstaff | Fort Lauderdale | Fresno | Gulf Coast | Hartford | Hoboken | Honolulu | Houston | Indianapolis | Jackson | Jersey City | Knoxville | Jacksonville | Kansas City | Las Vegas | Long Island | Los Angeles | Louisville | Lowell | Madison | Memphis | Miami | Milwaukee | Minneapolis | Myrtle Beach | Nashua | Nashville | New Orleans | New York City | Oakland | Oklahoma City | Omaha | Orange County | Orlando | Philadelphia | Phoenix | Pittsburgh | Portland | Providence | Raleigh | Reno | Richmond | Riverside | Sacramento | Saint Louis | Salem | Salt Lake City | San Antonio | San Diego | San Francisco | San Jose | Santa Barbara | Santa Fe | Seattle | St. Paul | Tampa | Tucson | Tulsa | Twin Cities | Virginia Beach | Washington, DC | Wilmington | Winston-Salem

Washington DC Restaurant Guide: See Menus, Ratings and Reviews for Restaurants in Washington DC