Follow Us

Reviews for New Happy Fortune Chinese

View Menu Go Back

Latest MenuPix Reviews

review_stars 06/06/2013 - Jennifer Glass
I'd never been to New Happy Fortune until a few weeks ago when I was browsing local eateries in my area. I came across multiple reviews singing praise to the great service Jenny provides. I'm a sucker for someone who makes me laugh, remembers my dietary restrictions, treats me with respect, suggests dishes & tells me if I'm going to like it or not. Needless to say we weren't disappointed.
It was like she pierced into my dietary preference soul the moment I walked in the door. I said "I'm allergic to-" and she abruptly (and respectfully) cut my off and finished my sentence with "Nightshade vegetables?" YES! How did she know? I'll admit, I saw all those positive reviews for her posted within a few days and I figured "She must just be having a STELLAR week! A real 'Richard Petty' of service record!"
Boy I felt sheepish after a single dining experience with Jenny. I had to eat my words...from the fortune cookies(To be fair the cookies are stale and taste like paper so it's very confusing. I figured the fortune must be edible aswell. I felt Jenny might have dropped the ball a bit on not telling me about the fortune in the cookie not edible. -1 Star).
BUT JENNY IS AWESOME!!!!!! Oh, side note...If your going to review, punctuate and spell check.

review_stars 05/09/2013 - Katelyn
This is by far my favorite place for dinner. The portions are large and the prices are reasonable. They also have the nicest staff, day and night. Jenny always treats everyone with respect and she is funny too. She helps you out if you're not sure what to get and she is nothing but nice.

review_stars 05/08/2013 - Liz
We have been coming here for the last seven years. We have never had anything but great service. When we have questions about a dish Jenny has been very helpful with explaining the dish. As a matter of fact, she knows our family so well, she'll even tell us whether we might like it or not. Jenny is such a great waitress that she can even remember what we normally order and recognizes who we are, if we call in a to go order, just by the first item or so.

On a side note to others, if you're going to take the time to post a review, please take the time to puncuate and learn how to use spell check.

review_stars 04/26/2013 - Sam
Jenny, the waitress, is incredible! My husband and I hadn't been there in a few months and when I called to place a to-go order she recognized my voice and remembered us! She's always so fast and funny. She makes us feel welcome and at home. Not to mention, the food is super yummy!

review_stars 04/26/2013 - Anna
I have been coming to this restaurant for YEARS! I love Jenny. She started after I started coming here and she took the time to get to know me and my food allergies and preferences. I don't have to place my order, she suggests new things for me to try. I make it a habit to stop by and see her and Mike. I really feel cared for and it is worth the drive for me. I live 20 minutes away.

review_stars 04/23/2013 - misty
i have loved this place and went regualy but with new young cocky waitress who complains about job and has horrible customer service skills makes this place no good yeasterday night me my husband and kids came to the resturant which we havent been for awhile since we moved decieded to eat here once we enterd the young waitress took for ever to even get us water are tea she was standing with some other teens complaining how she doesnt get paid that much and useing many profanitys next when she came to my table finally when she took my order she was trying to treat me like i was stupid being so rude telling me that i can have sause to side and not on top of chicken at that point she proceded to the younger people at other table made a rude laugh and started talking about customers that come in there shes very unproffesional and extreamly rude food wasnt that great and she was the wort waitress i ever encountered do not go here person that works nights is a rude non careing person and takes forever to help u and when she does talks to u like u are a idiot and because new owners are workers the foods not as good nor the portion i wish u luck if u go there at all at night when this young rude dont give a crap waitress works

review_stars 11/09/2009 - In the Neighborhood
I've been going to this place for years, the food is pretty darn good, the servings are generous. Great place to pick up dinner to go. Nice people too.

review_stars 03/04/2009 -
After searching online for chinese restaurants in our new neighborhood we decided to give New Happy Fortune a go. Many reviews I found were mixed bag but emphasized menu choices were Chinese-American. So we ordered the G2 and a Chicken trio, and Crab puffs (my ultimate chinese-american classic). WOWZERS is all we keep saying the flavors are impactful and linger long after the bite is gone. We chose these two items wanting to try a mixture hoping to find items we like for future order. DId we ever! we will reorder all items. This is one classic cliche, much like A Christmas Story itself, that we be wonderful to revisit, red vinal boothes and oversized Gold Fish to boot. This is exactly what a cold rainy and way too long Portland winter calls for.

Google Places Reviews

review_stars Rating: 5 | 08/22/2017 - Bee Ivey
Review: Amazing hole-in-the-wall place! We were coming from the eclipse in Salem and dropped in. The food was reasonably priced, the flavor was amazing (sechwan beef exploded in my mouth), the portions are large, and the hostess was extremely friendly. The only negative we had was that there were no refillable drink, and the hostess even made us fresh iced tea to compensate. Definitely worth a look.

review_stars Rating: 4 | 11/14/2017 - A Google User
Review: The best chinese food that I have had in Portland by far. This is where locals go for Chinese. Nothing fancy, but delicious.

review_stars Rating: 5 | 11/12/2017 - Matt V.D.
Review: Great food, great prices, and huge portions. The family that runs this place are great people too!

review_stars Rating: 1 | 09/20/2017 - Lani Allman
Review: 1.0 star rating 9/19/2017 If I could give this a negative star I would. We got there and there was only one other table with people sat at it. The hostess(?) said sit anywhere. The place we chose was apparently out of bounds so we chose another boot. The hostess told us that we would have a 30 minute to 45 minute wait. We, of course were curious why, and she said, in a snippy sort of way, "We have 10 to go orders ahead of you." Now, I don't mind waiting for good food, at least a reasonable amount of time, but we didn't even get water for at least another 20 minutes. For some reason, I thought that someone would take our order so that we could somehow get INTO that line of orders. I mean, if you never take our order aren't more and more called in take out orders just going to keep coming in? After about half an hour we asked how much longer it was going to be. The hostess said at least another 30 minutes. My aunt, who came in a few minutes after my friend and I said, you said it would be half an hour. The hostess said "No, I said half hour to 45 minutes, and you weren't even here so how would you know?" That pretty much did it for us. We left and ate at Taco Bell instead.

review_stars Rating: 5 | 07/17/2017 - luke Lucas
Review: Their spicy orange chicken and fried shrimp! All their food is amazing. General tso's chicken is another amazing dish! Kenny is great, always up beat. Been going here for years and will continue to. Thank you! Highly recommend this place for Chinese food.




Write a Review


Rating

Write Review


Are you a robot?


Portland Restaurant Guide: See Menus, Ratings and Reviews for Restaurants in Portland and Oregon
United States Restaurant Guide:
AK | AL | AR | AZ | DE | CA | CT | CO | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | MD | ME | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO | MT | NC | ND | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY
Canadian Major Cities and Provinces:
Alberta | British Columbia | Manitoba | New Brunswick | Newfoundland | Nova Scotia | Ontario | Prince Edward Island | Quebec | Saskatchewan | Yukon | Calgary | Edmonton | Montreal | Ottawa | Regina | Saskatoon | Toronto | Vancouver | Victoria | Winnipeg |
Most Popular US City Guides:
Albuquerque | Amherst | Atlanta | Austin | Baltimore | Boston | Boulder | Brooklyn | Burlington | Cape Cod | Charlotte | Charleston | Chicago | Cincinnati | Cleveland | Columbus | Dallas / Fort Worth | Denver | Detroit | El Paso | Flagstaff | Fort Lauderdale | Fresno | Gulf Coast | Hartford | Hoboken | Honolulu | Houston | Indianapolis | Jackson | Jacksonville | Jersey City | Kansas City | Knoxville | Las Vegas | Long Island | Los Angeles | Louisville | Lowell | Madison | Memphis | Miami | Milwaukee | Minneapolis | Myrtle Beach | Nashua | Nashville | New Orleans | New York City | Oakland | Oklahoma City | Omaha | Orange County | Orlando | Philadelphia | Phoenix | Pittsburgh | Portland | Providence | Raleigh | Reno | Richmond | Riverside | Sacramento | Saint Louis | Salem | Salt Lake City | San Antonio | San Diego | San Francisco | San Jose | Santa Barbara | Santa Fe | Seattle | St. Paul | Tampa | Tucson | Tulsa | Twin Cities | Virginia Beach | Washington, DC | Wilmington | Winston-Salem